If you recently started reading about vegetarian
diets, you've probably read all sorts of
strange vegetarian terms and categories like “vegan,”
“ovo-lacto vegetarian,”. “semi-vegetarian. “
You probably wondered what the big deal was.
Afterall, what's so conceptually tough about not
And you were right!
The distinctions between these sub-categories of
vegetarian are actually small. Each is very important
to members who belong to the groups. For them, these
distinctions aren’t arbitrary lines. They're important
dietary or ethical decisions.
Let’s take a look at some of these groups:
Vegetarian is a blanket term used to describe a person
who doesn't consume meat, poultry, fish. Seafood.
This grouping includes vegans and the various sub-
categories of vegetarian. However, it generally implies
someone who's less dietary restrictions than a vegan.
The term semi-vegetarian is usually used to describe
someone who isn't actually a vegetarian. Semi-vegetarian
generally implies someone who only eats meat occasionally
or doesn’t eat meat. Eats poultry and fish.
Ovo-lacto vegetarians are vegetarians who don't consume
meat, poultry, fish. Seafood. Do consume eggs and
milk. This is the largest group of vegetarians.
Ovo-vegetarian is a term used to describe someone who
would be a vegan if they didn't consume eggs.
Lacto-vegetarian is a term used to describe someone
who'd be a vegan if they didn't consume milk.
Vegan is the strictest sub-category of vegetarians.
Vegans don't consume any animal products or byproducts.
Some even go as far as not consuming honey and yeast.
Others don't wear any clothing made from animal
Take some time to figure out what group you'll belong
to when you become a vegetarian. you'll want to consider
both dietary and ethical reasons for choosing this